Reference · Iowa

Iowa LLC requirements

Every requirement we've verified for a domestic LLC in Iowa, with the source for each. For the plain-English cost answer, use the cost calculator.

Filing agencyIowa Secretary of State (Fast Track Filing)
Formation filing fee$50
Filing fee notesCertificate of Organization $50, confirmed in Iowa Code 489.117(1)(c) after the SOS fee pages returned 404.
Standard processingOnline (Fast Track Filing) faster than mail; exact turnaround unconfirmed.
Expedited optionsNot confirmed.
Periodic reportBiennial Report
Report frequencybiennial
Report fee$30
Report deadlineLLCs file during ODD-numbered years, between January 1 and April 1. $30 online via Fast Track Filing, $45 by mail or in person. An LLC formed in 2026 files its first report in 2027.
Late penaltyNot specified on the official page.
Administrative dissolutionNot specified on the official page. A $5 reinstatement filing fee appears on an official SOS reinstatement form.
State taxNo franchise tax for LLCs (Iowa's franchise tax applies only to financial institutions).
Minimum state taxNone
Newspaper publicationNot required
Registered agent requiredYes
First-year minimum$50
Verified Checked Source: legis.iowa.gov All sources

Confidence

What we're less sure about

Verified against the official state page

  • STATUTE-CONFIRMED (10 Sep 2026). Iowa Code 489.117(1)(c): 'Certificate of organization ... $50'. Odd-year cadence means a 2026-formed LLC first reports in 2027, outside year one.

Provenance

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these. If a state changes a fee and we haven't caught it, tell us — we log corrections publicly.

Keep reading

More on Iowa, and the states most like it

This page is the raw record. These are the places that record gets used — and the states whose rules work the same way.